Score Preparation

Most of my work involves arranging and recording strings.  But some orchestration and score preparation comes my way too.  It’s an enormously satisfying part of the music making business, not least when I get to attend and help out at the orchestral sessions which have taken me to studios all over Europe.

I had a go at a YouTube vid about score prep a long while back, and it was, frankly, naff.  So here is my updated version.

My biggest challenge (apart from trying my hardest to make the subject interesting!) is that the typical video dimensions on the web are too small for screen shots of sequencing and notation – things that normally fill a screen.  Looking forward to something that resolves that!

This video shows my approach and, of course, it’s not the only way to crack the nut!

9 responses to “Score Preparation

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Score preparation. A short vid about why and how. -- Topsy.com

  2. Another great insight to your work Pete….
    Do you use iShowU to record the Mac screen ?

  3. Pete,
    Great blog, but this video is especially fantastic. May I share this on my blog with a link?
    Cheers,
    MPatti
    wherestheorchestra.wordpress.com

  4. Thanks Mike! Very kind! Stick it anywhere you like.

  5. Pingback: Score preparation – made interesting! « Where's the Orchestra?

  6. I love this tutorial, very well made and practical, keep rocking on Pete!
    Excellent resource, thanks very much for sharing this!
    Adan

  7. Hey Pete, nice video guide. Quick question: what’s the music track featured in this video?

  8. Hi Leslie, the track is from the score to Cinderella on Ice by Tim Duncan and Ed Barnwell. http://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/cinderella-on-ice/id376270356

Leave a Reply

