the social musician

I wonder whether I revel in the online social tools because I’m, well….not very sociable. Not a party bloke. The truth is I’m a disciple of the God of social media and I reckon getting stuck into blogging, myspace, facebook, rss, podcasts, ning and the rest has helped my business grow. That, and google ads maybe.

I don’t need persuading that I DO need to express myself online, but if you’re not sure, check out the more eloquent expert at newmusicstrategies.com This advice is directed more at musicians as commercial artists (doing gigs, selling songs) but the argument is equally compelling for the vast numbers of musicians who survive in media music, session music and music services. I recently asked a NY producer why he blogs and he put forward an argument that I subscribe to: people get to know you much better with a blog than a static website. Sure, the website can present the brand, but the blog connects you with the person.  The blog does what a drink’n’chat does, on a global scale.

I’ve also been able to show diversity in the service I can offer – I think that variety would look confusing on a static website.

As well as my work as an arranger and string player, I’m involved in some education projects, particularly related to (you guessed it) elearning.  And I’m looking for stories.   I’m doing some research to find out how creative industries professionals are using web tools in their business and I wonder if you could respond?

Do you use blogs, social networks or IM to connect with your clients,  and service providers (like me!)?  Do you publish your work online – (video, audio, podcasts, photographs, text) in social spaces (like YouTube, MySpace and Flickr)?  Do you collaborate, using google docs or wikis?  And most importantly, what benefit do you get from using these tools?

If you have a moment to respond, please tell your story by posting comments on the research wiki (just hit the discussion tab).

This research is part of the SPLICE project – to explore the technological practices of creative industry professionals.

What’s in it for you?  Maybe you’ll get some ideas from others to improve your own development.

Leave a Reply

