the realstrings studio

I’ve done some upgrading in the past year and it’s making a big difference. For a start I now have 2 alternative spaces to record in; the original dry space and now a bigger acoustic room. We spent a bit of time setting this up with sound proofing, absorption and diffusing. I got POB from pobaudio to spec it for me. Now I get different acoustic charateristics from the 2 rooms and that helps me build up samples.

I’m also using a new mic – an SE Gemini (combined with the Rode NTK). Sometimes hire in a Neumann U87 too. The combination of mics makes a big difference and I’m recording every performance with at least 2 mics which helps achieve the randomness of an ensemble sound.

Blogged with Flock

One response to “the realstrings studio

  1. Those are pretty nice mics. You should leave your thoughts on the Neumann, the SE and the Rode at http://RockGearReviews.com if you have a minute.

    I know my readers would like to hear your opinion.

    Take it easy,
    Reuben

Leave a Reply

